Free e-file for federal tax return

I prefer paper, but I also prefer getting my refund sooner.  So I took advantage of free e-filing since I qualified based on my income.

Are you trying to file a 2007 tax return?

If your adjusted gross income was $54,000 or less in 2007, you can use Free File to prepare and e-file your taxes online. If you need more time to file your return, some companies also offer free preparation and e-filing for Extensions (Form 4868).

I started the process by letting the IRS page select a service that would let me e-file my state return (for a fee) also.  Overall the process took longer than by paper, but was pretty painless.

The only two issues I had,

  1. For the adoption tax credit (work interest) there was no mention of special needs adoption not needing to document expenses.
  2. It didn’t ask about the mortgage credit I have.  I was able to check for credits and it was one of the options.  Once I started that process, it was quite painless, and accurate.

The whole process was accurate, and I decided to spend the $13.95 so that I could e-file my state return.  At the end of the process, the service generated a pdf of each return that I could print and review.

Overall, I would recommend checking these services out.

-Josh

Leave a Reply

