Who Would Jesus Shoot?

NOTE: this is a topic with very heated opinions on both sides.  The title is meant to provoke, not anger, but thought.  If this upsets you, sorry, but it is my right to exercise my 1st amendment rights to free speech.

After an another school shooting, this time hitting not teenagers, but 20 grade school children (ages 6-7) and six adults, it is time to think about the gun culture of America.

Now I wasn’t sure what to call this post, I had a couple of thoughts along the lines of What Would Jesus Carry, What Would Jesus Shoot, or most offensive of all Who Would Jesus Shoot.  Now you may think, what the heck?  Why is this atheist who doesn’t own a gun bringing Jesus into this gun issue?  Well, I could say because religious people did it first, see Mike Huckabee who said,

“We’ve systematically removed God from our schools. Should we be so surprised that schools have become a place for carnage because we’ve made it a place where we don’t want to talk about eternity, life, responsibility, accountability?”

But that isn’t the reason I am asking Who Would Jesus Shoot?  The reason I am asking is because most of my friends outside of work tend to be more liberal, and less religious.  In the greater community of my workplace is where I experience more religious people, many who are more conservative.

What I am trying to understand is how my conservative religious friends support very little regulations on guns (size of clips, assault rifles, tracking the sales of guns, etc…) and the Bible pursing an eye for an eye solution.

I have seen people talk about how guns will help keep the government in check.  How more people die from smoking, drunk driving, etc…  How there would be less death if the principal, custodian or other school officials had been packing.  That last one is what lead me to this question of WWJS?  The idea that packing law-abiding citizen would put down this murderous madman is the solution.

But what would Jesus do in this situation?  Would he be packing? Or would he follow Matthew 5:39 “But I say unto you, That ye resist evil; but whosoever shall smite thee on thy right cheek, turn to him the other also.”  or Luke 6:29 “And unto him that smiteth thee on the one cheek offer also the other;…”  If Jesus was in the school when the shots rang out, WWJS?  Would he even have a gun?

-Josh

4 Comments

  1. December 17, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    Dear Josh, Jesus wouldn’t shoot anyone. I truly feel I can say that I do not believe Jesus would have a gun. I believe as a child, Jesus watch and cried when my father held the loaded shotgun to my stepmothers head when I was 8 years old. I think I felt His tears drop on my shoulder when as a little girl my father shot at me in a drunker stupor barely missing me. I felt Him cradle me as my father beat my sister with one of his guns until it broke. I felt Him pacing frantically when my father took all of us LITTLE kids shooting. I felt the heavens shake when my father made me shoot a gun that I couldn’t even hold up by myself and as it knocked me to the ground. As I lay there screaming and crying my father pointed it at my face, I felt the wind as God shielded me. I say these things because I personally do not believe controlling guns is the issue, it’s what’s in man’s heart that is the issue. Where is the love?

    I not only believe there is a God, but I personally believe I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that there is a God. I know you say you are an atheist and although I believe there is a God, I can not in any way make you believe there is a God. Only you can believe for yourself. As a christian all I can do is be an example of a Godly person that someone might want to be like. But it is something I would never force upon someone else and would never judge them for not believing. If I did that, why would they want to become a christian and be like me? I know there is a God because He was the only one who believed in me when I was a child. You see, I heard man say that I would never amount to anything because I wore the label ‘foster child’. Man judged me before he ever knew who I was inside. Man saw a child who was disengaged, a behavior problem, someone unable to accept love, or show love, someone who couldn’t be trusted. Man deemed me unworthy, unlovable and unwanted. I was merely a little child scared of everyone and everything. But God wanted me and he wrapped His love and protection around me when no one else would reach out to me. He comforted me when others threw me to the wolves. Yes, Josh, there is a God, but I want you to feel Him the same way I felt Him when He surrounded me with His love. Only then can you too truly believe. But that my friend is totally up to you. I love you as my brother whether you believe or not.

    I actually believe in gun control. I believe in putting distance between a drunken stupor and a weapon of mass destruction. Yes, I agree that criminals will get weapons if they want them bad enough, but it might save a child and if it saves one persons life the law would have been worth it. I was a small child looking into a barrel one too many times by a man who was suppose to love and protect me. Guns have no place in a home where children live. I cried for my foster friend who was put into a mental facility after he got a hold of his fathers shotgun and blew his little brothers head off playing cops and robbers. Yes Josh, I believe in gun control.

    I do personally feel that taking God out of the schools does allow more ‘bad’ to happen. Even if someone doesn’t believe in God, at least if we keep them surrounded by ‘good’ then maybe it will keep them from being quiet so ‘evil’ when life goes awry. I know that is what kept me from giving into the ‘evil’ thoughts that once plagued my mind.

    As for an eye for an eye, that was the old testament. Things changed in the new testament. I’m not quite sure about all of this, but I do know that God does exist. I am here, I have over come, and it is all because of Him. A child does not live the horrific life I lived, fought the battle to become who I am today without divine intervention. I pray that in YOUR timing, should YOU choose, that someday you too will believe and then you will understand so much more.

    Until then, I believe in you, and consider you my brother whether you believe or not. After all of the pain man has caused me throughout my life, I choose to forgive and turn the other cheek.

    If you send me your address Mr. Josh, I would love to send you a book. Maybe then you might be a little more open to believing in God. 🙂

    Sorry my words are not as eloquent as yours, but that is some of the life skill gaps that so many of my foster brothers and sisters suffer from. You see, as children, we spent every moment of every day running from the wrong end of a barrel and it kept us from learning the lessons our friends learned in school.

  2. Sarah said,

    December 18, 2012 at 12:21 am

    Great post Joe … it’s very difficult to have an honest discussion with people more interested in ‘being right’ than ‘getting it right’. It’s clear to me your post is intended to provoke thought and discussion, not self-defense as so many gun-owners jump to in these times (shocking). Why is it, when examined closely, Jesus’ teachings contradict their very ideology?

    Here is an article I read recently (written prior to Newtown) that talks about the beneficiaries of such massacres and the power multi-billion dollar gun manufacturers have over the NRA and congress. Fear = $$$ … and no one does it better than the gun industry.

    http://blogs.reuters.com/bernddebusmann/2012/07/30/guns-in-america-the-business-of-fear/

  3. Maryjane Westra said,

    December 18, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    I’m proud to know you, Josh. Now is the time to talk about gun control. Well, its past time for 27 people in Newtown, CT. We can’t hope to stop the carnage completely, but we can reduce it through gun control and increased funding for mental health services. If only we have the political will. Thank you for taking the lead Josh!

  4. Edwardo Ford said,

    December 20, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    Maybe Huckabee could have worded his comment focusing on the characteristics or ideology of these christian type principles…not as some overbearing, disadained God looking down on his minions, as you see Him…. What if his words had said “the value of life, or responsibility, accountibility…I mean judeo-christian ideology may covet those as gifts from a God and part of living a christian focused life…..but as an athiest, can’t they have meaning to the balance of society, separated from any religious attachment?..Its pretty clear society would not survive in the absence of any of these characteristics…and in case you don’t know it, Mike Huckabee is a christian man so when he talks about societies issues, he will do it from a christian perspective and most know it.
    He also pardoned Kieth Richards of the Rolling Stones while he was Governor…just a factoid…..


Leave a Reply

